St Bede’s College Senior Football Team

Watch the Video of the St Bede’s Senior Football Team making history, when they won the Herald Sun Shield Grand Final on 7 August 2019.

Not only was Miles Bergman awarded the “Neale Daniher Medal for Best Player on Ground” at the Herald Sun Shield Grand Final, but current Year 12 student, Miles has also been mentioned as a potential first draft pick by Brisbane.  Scroll down to below the video, to read about Miles.


Watch the video below of the
Herald Sun Shield Champions!




“With an exciting carnival for Vic Metro and an eye-catching end to the year for the Sandringham Dragons, Miles Bergman finished his season as one of the buzz players of the draft.  As a wingman he can roam up the ground and use his agility and pace to break the lines, and playing closer to goal his natural leap and long kicking makes him a dangerous option.  He has real upside and will have his suitors late in the first round.”



From the 

Director of Sport – Michael Naughton

A huge congratulations to the Year 10, 11 and 12 boys who represented St Bede’s in the Grand Final of the Herald Sun Shield on Wednesday 7 August 2019.

Our 1st XVIII Football Team won the Senior ACC Premiership last term and in doing so, earned the right to represent the ACC in the competition which involves the top schools from the different School Sports Associations.

In a hard fought, low scoring game at Trevor Barker Oval in Sandringham, St Bede’s came out winners by 2 goals – a fantastic effort!

Final Scores: St Bede’s 5.10.40 def St Patrick’s Ballarat 3.10.28.

Congratulations to Miles Bergman on winning the Neale Daniher medal for the best player on the ground.  Lachlan Lamble, Nicholas Grech, Ryan Byrnes, Blake O’Leary and Austin Johnson also played very well.

This group of Year 12s have won the ACC Football Premiership in Year 7, Year 8, Year 9 and now at Senior level which is an outstanding effort.

A big thank you to Mr Lalor, Mr Martyn and Mr Radford for coaching the team. The first ever win by St Bede’s in this prestigious competition which has been held every year since 1977.



From the Principal – John Finn:

Congratulations to the 1st XVIII Football team who after winning the ACC Premiership have gone on to make the final of the Herald Sun Shield. This competition involves the Premier sides from each of the different schools Sport Associations. In other words, the best of the best!

The game against St Patrick’s Ballarat will determine who is the best School Football team in the State:

The match will be held on Wednesday 7 August at Trevor Barker Oval in Sandringham starting at 1.30pm.

The team was led superbly by Nicholas Grech all season and they now progress to the semi-finals of the Herald Sun Shield early next term.



Players in the 1st XVIII Football Team

  • Nicholas Grech (Captain)
  • Luke Garnaut,
  • Cameron Blitsas,
  • Michael Lewis,
  • Lachlan Lamble,
  • Liam Hayes,
  • Joshua Miller,
  • Blake O’Leary,
  • Austin Johnson,
  • George Grey,
  • Charlie Yee,
  • David Goodman,
  • Noah Beveridge,
  • Kyle Yorke,
  • Liam Segar,
  • Andrew Courtney,
  • Mitchell Tsiros,
  • Nathan Bazzani,
  • Lachlan Carrigan,
  • Harry Kilfoyle,
  • Marcus White,
  • Cameron Taylor
  • Jake Kovacic
  • Ryan Byrnes
  • Miles Bergman – Awarded the “Neale Daniher Medal for best player on Ground”

We are also very lucky to have three highly accredited and experienced coaches who looked after the team this year so a special thanks to:

  • Owen Lalor,
  • Guy Martyn and
  • Sam Radford

for all the time they have given to Senior Football.



Year 7             2014                Jamie Honan and Bernie Blackall                               ACC Premiers

Year 8             2015                Guy Martyn and Kevin Rafferty                                   ACC Premiers

Year 9             2016                Adrian Lane and Roger Grech                                     ACC Premiers

Year 10           2017                Mark Jones and Justin Eke                                           ACC Runners up

Year 11/12      2018-9             Owen Lalor, Guy Martyn and Sam Radford            ACC Premiers and Herald Sun Shield Premiers


Michael Naughton
Director of Sport